Six Generations Later, They Done Good: Revolutionary Blogging Free Verse Poem

They came,Kuntz_StKillianGrave_Hartford_Wisconsin_Sept2015
seeking a new life
for themselves,
for their children.

Hoping
for something better.
Not knowing
they would be the first
cheeseheads.

I stood,
having passed the old cemetery
many times,
at last,
at their graves,
and wept.

A surreal
central Wisconsin
sunset moment,
a circle completed,
their names on headstones,
my face on photos
to show I was there.

I wept more,
blessed them
for their vision,
cleaned off their markers,
scrubbed their names:
“John”. “Father”.
“Victoria”. “Mother.”

Kuhns_Kuntz_Hartford_gravesite_Sept2015They were born and died
centuries ago,
but their dreams
and hopes
are alive,
still,
in me,
on a rural Wisconsin hill.

Do they know
how much we,
seven generations
or more,
appreciate
and thank
them?

St. Killian Old Irish Cemetery,
Highway 83 east of Hartford.
I found them at last.
“Danke sehr, Victoria and John Kuntz.
Ya done good.”

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Six Generations Later, They Done Good: Revolutionary Blogging Free Verse Poem”

  1. Finding My Bavarian Roots: Blogging Prose | Cyrano Writer: Musings of a Revolutionary Romantic Poet Says:

    […] father, John, and his mother, Victoria, were buried in Hartford. At the time, I wrote this piece: https://cyranowriter.wordpress.com/2015/09/12/six_generations_later_they_done_good/. Alas, all censuses of this family simply said “Germany” as their residence before […]

Comments are closed.